ferries are for wimps!

Just ONE week away!!!!!! – at 11.30AM next Thursday morning, I’ll be bobbing up and down on the Solent waves like a vegan’s turd.

Trying, as I look down into the cold, dark depths beneath me, not to think about the marine conservationists who have rarely been out of the papers this summer, banging on about the wonderful species of shark and jellyfish who have immigrated to our unusually warm shores.

Instead, my motivation, like the road-crossing chicken in all the jokes, will be to get to the other side. My other motivation, and here you can help me, will be to help children fighting a cancer that claims more little lives than any other in this country: neuroblastoma.

Today is the first day of September, and Childhood Cancer Awareness Month. So help me help Families Against Neuroblastoma help children battling the disease all over the country. Click on this & pass it on too: http://www.bmycharity.com/swim2bestival4FAN , and let’s hope September sees some rays of sunshine for those fighting childhood cancers.

Thanks very much everyone who’s supported me, sponsored us, and offered helpful advice on how not to swim like a dick.

Especially my sidekick Sharkboy (my son Rocky, 9) who’s accompanied me on many swims.

If the swim goes well, yes, you can do it in a few years’ time, Rocky. In the meantime, like all the normal people, who I’m secretly quite jealous of, you can get the car ferry.

Dive in & comment:

